Last update: November 9, 2017

AT&T VoIP Services logo

AT&T VoIP Services

2019 VOIP Service Review

Miriam Gerritsen

7.5/10

overall rating

Editor: Miriam Gerritsen

AT&T VoIP Services graphic

AT&T VoIP Services Review Summary

If you are in the market for VoIP phone service, AT&T might have some good options to consider. If you have used AT&T in the past and been pleased with their service, you can enjoy your favorite traditional phone features, and discover a variety of new and helpful tools that could make your life much less complicated. 

AT&T Business in a Box is a good option for reliable small business VoIP service. It provides voice and data services over a single network connection and device. Regardless of the size or location of your business, this service delivers VoIP using AT&T Voice DNASM.

Residential service is also available through AT&T U-verse. This allows you to manage voice mails, contacts, call history and call preferences from your home PC, and access many functions through your U-verse TV screens. This system seems to work best for customers who integrate their phone, internet and TV services. 

Get Pricing

AT&T VoIP Services Highlights

  • Cloud Based PBX
  • Unlimited Calls
  • Personal Web Portal
  • No Expensive Equipment
  • Worry-Free Management
  • Global IP Network
Reliability
7.8
Features
6.5
Value
7.5
Customer Support
8
Get Pricing
User rating:

Confidence:73%


AT&T VoIP Services Category Reviews

Overall rating

7.5 /10

Overall Review

AT&T VoIP Services received a solid overall rating of 7.6/10 from us for a handful of reasons. First of all, we like the safeguards that are in place through their security and backup systems to keep your information safe. In this digital age of hackers and cyber crime, keeping your information under lock and key is essential. Their customer support options are diverse and seem to be quite efficient. However, they lack some of the features we like to see in a VoIP service.

We found their bundling system slightly problematic. In order to get VoIP phone service, you also have to sign up for Internet service as part of a bundle. If you're already interested in having multiple services within your home of office, this could be cost effective, but it could prove to be less monetarily beneficial if you are only interested in one service.

Small businesses in need of VoIP service could do really well with AT&T Business in a Box. This service delivers VoIP using AT&T Voice DNASM regardless of the size or location of your business. We see this as a huge benefit for small businesses who attempt to look larger to compete with big businesses.


  • Remote Workers
  • Conference Calling
  • Virtual Phone Numbers
  • Ongoing Support
  • Reporting Tools
  • Multimedia Software

Enterprise rating

7.6 /10

Enterprise Review

Large enterprises need a communications system that provides the tools and features needed to work effectively with companies all over the world. This requires a sophisticated IP network, which AT&T can provide. We feel having their own global network allows them more expertise and freedom to create a product that works for individual businesses.

More and more companies have employees that work remotely, or travel frequently around the globe. AT&T's Enterprise system allows a single number to reach an employee regardless of where they're located. This same employee can also make and answer calls from different devices, including an office phone, mobile phone, or even a computer. This flexibility is one of the reasons we have given them a 7.6/10.

From a monetary stand point, the set up costs for this service are very low. You don't need to purchase new equipment, just use your current phones. We also like that fact that you don't need to pay for staff to do regular upgrades or system maintenance on your system. This is all provided by AT&T and is done in the cloud. Changing service plans or altering certain features is also done in the cloud. In our opinion, simplicity is a definite plus for Enterprise VoIP Service.


  • Teleconferencing
  • Single Point of Contact
  • Voice and Data Integration
  • SIP Trunking
  • Toll Free Numbers
  • Collaborative Communications

Small & Medium Business rating

7.5 /10

Small & Medium Business Review

The main system AT&T VoIP Services provides for small to medium sized businesses is something they call Business in a Box. It provides the infrastructure needed to merge voice and data for your business. If you're looking for an all-in-one solution to provide reliable communications services and IT help when needed, we feel Business in a Box is a great option. All of your services would be provided over a single network connection for ease and reliability.

Another big concern for smaller businesses is the security of their information. This service provides WAN (wide area network) capabilities which includes a built in firewall and virtual private network termination. The capability to keep your information safe is one of the reasons we've given them a rating of 7.7/10.

We also appreciate the simplicity of set up for their system that shouldn't require a large technology staff. You take care of the simple set up and AT&T handles the rest from their end. If you run into any problems, they are available to help 24/7, free of charge. Overall, we feel they provide the system and features of large businesses in a way to that also works for small businesses.


  • Remote Access
  • Data Centers
  • Business in a Box
  • Firewall Protection
  • IP Trunking
  • Mobile Device Compatibility

Residential rating

7.3 /10

Residential Review

AT&T U-verse is a residential VoIP phone service that's available in specific locations within the US. Through your home PC you can manage your contacts, listen to voice mail, check your call history and alter your call preferences. You can also perform many functions through your U-verse TV screens. This system seems to work best for customers who prefer to integrate their phone, internet and TV services.

We really like the community forums provided for customers and the general public. If you're having a specific problems with your service, it's likely someone else has had the same issue and can help. We found the device tutorials and videos on their site really helpful with setting up devices correctly, and fixing any issues.

Customers who subscribe to both AT&T U-verse TV and Voice will also get a bonus feature: Call History,. This displays all your missed and answered calls directly on your TV screen. If you want to call someone back, all you need is your remote. Although this may not be useful for some customers, we think some individuals could really enjoy this feature.


  • Data Streaming
  • Virtual Private Network
  • Call Preferences
  • Voicemail Features
  • Mobile Access
  • High Voice Quality

AT&T VoIP Services Reliability (7.8 / 10)

Reliability and security work hand in hand with any good VoIP phone carrier. We know the date you have is crucial, which is why we appreciate the use of a MPLS (multiprotocol label switching) system from AT&T. This allows you regulate network packets to create a VPN (virtual private network) that is private across your infrastructure. 

By combining MPLS and VPN service, you can connect multiple locations and users on a single private IP network. We place high value on AT&T's ability to provide this type of privacy and connectivity. Fast response times and better control within your network are also appreciated. These are just a few reasons we have given a 8.5/10 rating for Reliability.

AT&T VoIP Services Features (6.5 / 10)

There are three main categories of features that we think are important for a good VoIP phone system to have. The first category is the ability to regulate and monitor incoming and outgoing calls. The second has to do with the mobility and diversity of features. The last involves available integrations that can be used with other programs or services.

With regards to the first category, we feel AT&T does a good job of providing features such as Auto Attendant, Call Hunt, and a Call Center. These allow you to efficiently route incoming calls where they need to go within your company. AT&T's mobile capabilities are sufficient as well, including a Mobile App and a Softphone so you can do business interactions outside of your home of office.

Regarding integrations, AT&T falls short compared to other VoIP carriers. Many companies rely on system integrations with programs like Outlook, Skype, Google Calendar, Net Suite and many more. This is one area that we feel could be improved upon. Because of this we have given AT&T VoIP Services a 6.5/10 for Features.

A Summary of AT&T VoIP Services Features

Invite a certain number of participants to Video Conferencing for face-to-face meetings.

Unite your whole company with a virtual PBX that is hosted entirely in the cloud.

Link your business phone number to your mobile device.

Provides a personalized message to incoming callers with options to connect to the operator, dial by name, or reach another extension.

SIP Trunking allows companies with internal PBX systems to communicate over the Internet instead of traditional analog phone lines.

You'll never miss a call by configuring your system to simultaneously ring your mobile and home phone.

Host audio conferences using a desktop or laptop, with multiple and mobile clients.

A complete Call Center Solution that offers automated and intelligent call distribution. 

Whether you’re doing business or just chatting with friends, three-way conference calling has never been easier.

A private extension with a personal password-protected voicemail account. 

You can choose a 800, 888, or 877 phone number that is free for the people calling you.

Allows an incoming call to be routed to any extension or telephone number in a group of extensions or telephone numbers.

Take your rates and features with you no matter where you are in the world.

AT&T VoIP Services Value (7.5 / 10)

Is AT&T VoIP Services a good value?

We awarded AT&T VoIP with a rating of 7.5/10 for overall value because we like most of what they offered, but not everything. We like the security of their phone systems and the backups that are in place to keep your information safe. Their customer support was diverse and efficient, but they lacked some of the features we find to be helpful.

The biggest negative we found was the requirement to bundle most plans. In order to get VoIP phone service, you also have to get Internet service. They have to be bundled together. If you're already interested in having multiple services, this could save you money, but it could prove to less monetarily beneficial if you are only interested in phone service.

Monthly charges are also a little high compared to other VoIP providers. Their lowest plan is usually around $30 a month, whereas other service providers have plans as low as $15 a month. Depending on your desired plan, this could cost you extra each month, or be right on target. 


AT&T VoIP Services Customer Support (8.0 / 10)

When comparing customer support between different VoIP phone providers, we appreciate those that provide a variety of ways to get help when needed. For this reason, we've given AT&T  VoIP Services 8/10 for customer support. Depending on your preference, you can get help over the phone, online, or through community programs.

We really like the community forums they provide for customers and the general public. These could provide a rich source of information from other customers that have experienced the same problems. You can also look at the device tutorials and videos on their site to help with setting up devices correctly, and fixing any issues.

If you prefer to speak over the phone, they have direct numbers to call for Remote IT Support, Security and Backup Help, and Marketing Help. Representatives that help with Security, Backup and Marketing can be reached during common business hours. However, Remote IT Support is available 24/7. All in all, we think AT& VoIP provides well rounded and available customer support.


AT&T VoIP Services Plans

A Summary of AT&T VoIP Services Plans

Below is a summary of the service plans offered by AT&T VoIP Services.

Residential VoIP Services

If you are looking for a new residential phone system that embraces the newest technology, AT&T is the perfect company to choose. Their use your existing high speed internet to direct incoming and outgoing calls that are crystal clear. You can also take advantage of additional free features that will make your life much easier.

AT&T U-verse Voice, which is available in certain markets, lets you enjoy your favorite features that save time and provide great value. Some of these include Click to Call from your AT&T U-verse TV, Call Forwarding, Call Waiting, and much more.

Any customer who subscribes to both AT&T U-verse TV and Voice will also get a bonus feature. This feature is Call History, which displays missed and answered calls directly on your TV screen. If you want to call someone back, you can do so with your remote. It's that easy!

Plan Highlights

  • Manage call preferences, voice mails, contacts, call history and more from any PC
  • Access landline and AT&T wireless messages in one voice mailbox that can be reached from any phone or PC
  • View your last 500 incoming and outgoing calls on your computer
  • Maintain an online address book that's accessible from any PC
Get Pricing
Small Business VoIP Services

AT&T Business in a BoxSM provides small locations voice and data services all using a single network connection and device. Whether you are a small business or a larger business with satellite locations, this service delivers the phone quality your business deserves. Better communication leads to higher profits.

They deliver such high quality phone service by using Voice over IP in two different ways. One is via AT&T Voice DNASM, a network hosted solution. The other is via AT&T IP Flexible Reach, an IP trunking solution. Either way, you get the phone service you company needs at affordable prices.

AT&T Business in a BoxSM features an AT&T managed device that comes equipped with data ports and connectors. In addition, the service offers Internet access routing with built-in firewall protection. Last but not least, your company will have a virtual private network and even Wi-Fi data access.

Plan Highlights

  • One provider
  • One connection
  • A cost-effective communications solution
Get Pricing
Enterprise VoIP Services

Whether you are a smaller, medium or larger organization; you have one or multiple locations; or you have mobile or remote employees, let us help you choose the AT&T VoIP calling service solution that is right for you. The better communication you have, the higher quality of service you can provide, and the more profits you can generate.

AT&T delivers such high quality phone service by using Voice over IP in two different ways. One is via T Voice DNASM, a network hosted solution. The other is via AT&T IP Flexible Reach, an IP trunking solution. Either way, you get the phone service your company needs at affordable prices.

AT&T Business in a BoxSM features an AT&T managed device that comes equipped with data ports and connectors. In addition, the service offers Internet access routing with built-in firewall protection. Last but not least, your company will have a virtual private network and even Wi-Fi data access.

Plan Highlights

  • Choose from a range of premises-based and hosted VoIP solutions
  • Integrate voice and data lines
  • Facilitate communication among numerous branch locations
  • Ensure effective VoIP deployment & management
Get Pricing